GRUB on Lemote Yeeloong

I read that Vladimir Serbinenko’s effort to bring GRUB to the Lemote Yeeloong laptop has reached a milestone: It is now able to initialize and draw text in the display:

This is quite significant for GNU GRUB as it’s the first time it’s ported to a mipsel platform. In addition, it is planned to support the Yeeloong both as a “disk bootloader” (i.e. the way it is normally used on x86/PC) and as a “firmware bootloader”, thereby offering a more flexible alternative to PMON2000 (the preinstalled firmware).

The Lemote Yeeloong is a legacy-free, mipsel-based laptop that runs using entirely free software, including the firmware and its initialization routines.

6 Responses to “GRUB on Lemote Yeeloong”

  1. Why software libre rocks « PoisonBit Says:

    […] Some developers, works on support it. […]

  2. Daemonax Says:

    Hey Anon above.

    I will be heading off to China on Monday, the 16th, and after that I am strongly considering moving to Germany with my friend. I can go to the local computer mall (yes, they have a mall filled with only computer shops!) and see how much I can get these Yeeloong’s for.

    My moving to Germany will be dependant on if my friend from Düsseldorf can get a holiday and come to Fuzhou the city in China I’ll be in, but assuming he’ll be able to, I’ll be moving to Germany. So if you want, search for my username and you shouldn’t have any trouble finding a way to contact me, and I’ll see if I can help to get you one of these laptops for cheaper.

  3. Links 25/10/2009: GNOME 2.28 Reviewed, PCLinuxOS Turns 6 | Boycott Novell Says:

    […] GRUB on Lemote Yeeloong This is quite significant for GNU GRUB as it’s the first time it’s ported to a mipsel platform. In addition, it is planned to support the Yeeloong both as a “disk bootloader” (i.e. the way it is normally used on x86/PC) and as a “firmware bootloader”, thereby offering a more flexible alternative to PMON2000 (the preinstalled firmware). […]

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Where can I buy one?

  5. anon Says:

    i’d love one of these, too bad i’d need to pay a truckload of import taxes to have one (adding up to enough for a comparatively fairly buffed x86 laptop) :(

    hey china, would you mind getting into the EU so we can get free of those silly import taxes? ;)

Leave a Reply

